borderAndreaVB free resources for Visual Basic developersborder
borderAndreaVB Visual Basic and VB.NET source code resources - Copyright © 1999-2016 Andrea Tincaniborder

AndreaVB | Forum | News | Downloads | Register | Help | Member List | Statistics | Search | PM | Profile

Print This Topic
Previous Topic (Networking Router)Next Topic (Introduction to Networking Free Download) New Topic New Poll Post Reply
AndreaVB Forum : Network : Need help connecting multiple clients in chat program
Poster Message
Sacom
Level: Trainee

icon Need help connecting multiple clients in chat program

I'm rather new to net coding in VB6 and I have a problem. I read the tutorial on the now-dead winsockvb.com awhile ago, and I have just made a few changes to it myself. I was trying to make it so that multiple clients could connect to one server, and it would act sort of like IRC. But, I'm having an odd problem. I made it so that whenever a client sends some text, instead of sending it out and assuming it got to the server and adding it to the "sent text" box itself, it would just send it to the server, and then the server would send it back to ALL clients, including the one that sent it. This solved two problems, 1) making the sender sure that his message hit the server and 2) removing the specific client from the loop to send his message to other clients. My problem then is, that for some reason the server only communicates with the most recent client connected unless forced otherwise. An example of this can be seen here:

Private Sub Winsock_DataArrival(Index As Integer, ByVal bytesTotal As Long)

Dim strData As String
Dim i As Integer

Winsock(Index).GetData strData
    strData = strData & vbCrLf
    txtSaid.Text = txtSaid.Text & strData
    For i = Winsock.LBound + 1 To Winsock.UBound
        'There is an array of winsocks, winsock(0) is always to remain open to recieve
        'incoming connections, if it is accepted, then a new winsock is loaded
        Winsock(i).SendData strData